1. The prelude

BGI: Gary & Ji-hyo on a coffee run amidst filming for Running Man

“I would love to know what’s going on in that gorgeously mysterious head of yours.” Gary had an uncanny ability in reading people well. However, try as he might, Ji-hyo remained as inscrutable to him as she had always been. He couldn’t gaze deep into her soul as he could for most people.

“The same can be said about you,” Ji-hyo retorted. “I don’t know what you’re thinking, always hiding your pain from me. Let me shoulder some of it. Stop trying to protect me from everything.”

“I’m an open book,” he disagreed. “That’s why you, and everyone else, knew how I felt about you even before I acknowledged those feelings.

“You, on the other hand, Mong Ji, are superb at masking your emotions. The only thing that betrayed the slightest hint of your feelings was that habit of yours which no one else knows about.”

“I wanted you to be the first and only one to find out,” she smiled, casually bumping her shoulder against his. “Here’s your caramel macchiato, just the way you like it.”

 

